
This clarification section is meant to be referenced when a rules issue arises during gameplay, 
and players demand the absolute correct answer to their question. Generally, if there is a minor 
rules dispute, we suggest a game of Angry Dice to settle the dispute, or a vote. Hopefully, these 
few pages help explain any ambiguity and are a good reference for players learning the game.

Appendix C.  Clarifications/FAQ

RESEARCH
You may only research 5 RP during Roll, per turn maximum. In the rare instance that you have a set in one color 
of more than 5 dice, you may only gain 5RP in that color.

In the extremely rare (I’ve never seen it happen) instance that you roll a completely unusable die roll and cannot 
take any action on your turn, you must take no action that turn. Simply pass the dice to the next player and be 
proud that you have accomplished something I have never seen happen in all my plays.

RAINBOW BLEND
If you already have a Rainbow Blend, you may not Roll a new Rainbow Blend to score one point. Rainbows stay 
in a player’s possession until a new Rainbow is created by another player (i.e. forever unless you do something 
about it).

FLAVOR DICE
Flavor Dice are acquired by using black RP to gain them. In simple terms, when you roll black beans you may gain 
as many Flavor dice as you have black beans instead of Researching. Flavor isn’t a track that you move forward 
like the other bean faces, but it still counts as Research. In thematic terms, it’s like trading real skills for a cheap 
way to make coffee taste good.

A player cannot use his Roll abilities to affect other player’s Flavor Dice rolls. When Donating Flavor Dice, a 
player cannot use his Roll abilities to affect the outcome of his own roll.

Your Flavor Dice are always used during your Roll and always returned to the supply after Researching or Blending. 
And just to be 100% clear, you can use rolled Flavor Dice results for Research.

TOKENS
Tokens are one-time use. But, with the Pay for Action ability and in future expansions it may be possible to 
activate a “Gain a Token” ability more than two times. Gained Tokens are only removed from the corresponding 
Research Track when they are used (moved by the player) or when the track is completed.  

If a Token does not say to remove it once used, do not remove it. It will stay in play and remain active.

POSSIBLE TIES
In the rare instance of an exact tie at 21 points, play continues “sudden death” style, until a player gains the lead 
in PP.

GAMEPLAY
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Advanced ABILITY DISCS Clarification

ABILITIES
If multiple abilities can be used during a Phase of a turn, you may use them in any 
order that is most beneficial. For example, it may be good to use the IMPROVE 
BEAN to affect one die ability before RE-ROLL. The order of events is up to you.

If you gain a new ability due to an effect during ACTIVATE, you may use it immediately.

All abilities must have a legal target.  For example, if you have to give 2RP in brown, 
you can’t waste them by donating them to a player that has already completed the 
brown track. If there is no legal target, you can’t take the action.

IMPROVE BEAN

Improve the value of a bean by one pip (one value higher).

You may use the 2X ability level to improve one die twice. 
Also, a Flavor die may be improved to the WILD side by 
adding one pip to a green bean. A black bean cannot be 
improved to a white bean (no wrap-around).

DEVALUE BEAN

Decrease the value of a bean by one pip (one value lower). 
You may use the 2X ability level to decrease one die twice. 
A white bean cannot be decrease to a black bean (no 
wrap-around).

HIRE INTERN

Detailed rules for using Interns are found on pg. 13 of the rulebook.

When an Intern Ability is chosen, the token can NOT be moved/removed to place somewhere 
else until the track is completed. When the track is completed, you score points equal to the 
ability chosen, then immediately return your token to the supply. This Intern Ability may 
now be chosen by other players if they reach the 1X level of the HIRE INTERN track.

Dice 
Manipulation

NOTE:
Most Abilities have two 
values set in parenthesis 
(X/X). The first value is 
what ability is gained at the 
1X level, while the second 
value is what ability is 
gained at the 2X level. 
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RESEARCH GRANT
This ability is not optional and 
must be performed during 
Activate each turn. 

At 2X level you may grant two 
different players 1 RP in the track 
of your choice.

CALL IT!

This ability is optional, but if you 
decide to flip, you must perform 
the rest of the action in it’s 
entirety.

(We flip all the time though, I mean, why 
wouldn’t you?)

EXTRA RESEARCH

To be perfectly clear, this die value must be part of your 
remaining pool of rolled dice. For example, if you use 4 
red beans for research, and rolled a black bean as well, 
you may take a Flavor die during Activate as your Extra 
Research.

RESEARCH BOOST
This ability can only be used once per turn during another player’s Roll. So, for example, in 
a 2-player game, if you have placed a token on your opponent’s Green Research Track and 
your opponent has placed a token on your Green Research Track, you don’t receive infinite 
RP in some crazy loop. When your opponent Researches the track on their Roll, you gain 
the same amount. And vice versa. 

You may also place two tokens on the same Track. Simply advance double the amount of RP 
when your opponent gains RP in this track during Roll.

SHARED RESEARCH

This ability is not optional and 
must be performed during Activate 
each turn.

FIELD TESTING

As a reminder, RP may be spent 
to obtain Flavor Dice as well. You 
may gain one Flavor Die for each 
RP gained.

Research
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NOTE:
Not all abilities are listed 
in this document. Abilities 
shown here are more 
complex or require minor 
clarification. Refer to the 
reference cards for basic 
ability information.
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FLAVOR SHOT

FLAVOR SHOT and EXTRA 
FLAVOR are the same ability. 
There is a misprint on the LITE 
ability coaster, so please consult 
the FLAVOR SHOT reference 
card.

INVEST
You may only place one token 
onto a newly created Featured 
Blend at a time.

This ability can be used in 
conjunction with Donated Flavor 
Dice, so be careful.

REBOOT

If you are at the 2X level of this 
ability and you Break Apart your 
Featured Blend containing 4 dice, 
you may roll 6 coffee dice.

ROAST BOAST
All you have to do is say, out loud, 
that you will create a Blend.

A player may use ROAST BOAST 
even when at zero PP. If they do 
not create a Blend, they are simply 
unable to gain PP.

OFFICE POLITICS

The tokens placed onto Research 
Tracks can NOT be moved/
removed to place somewhere else 
until the Track is completed.

SHORT SUPPLY
At the 1X level, you will only Roll 
4 coffee dice during Roll. At the 
2X level, you will roll 3 coffee dice.

Flavor Dice may still be used in 
order to have the 5 dice required to 
create a Blend.

Special

BLOCKED ACTION
You may place a token onto a space during Activate to block other players from using an 
ability until your next turn. More specifically, this token is removed during Score on your 
next turn. 

Players may still use research points to gain blocked abilities; they will simply be unable to 
use their effects until your next turn. If this is an ability that states “Gain a Token,” the player 
will still gain/place the token, but may not use its effects until the Blocked! Token has been 
removed.
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Special

PAY FOR ACTION
At the 1X level, pay 1PP to use one ability. At the2X level, pay 1PP to use two abilities. This 
can also be the same ability twice.

If you use PAY FOR ACTION to enable a “Gain a Token” ability, you gain a Token and 
follow the instructions for that ability. This means that you can gain more than two Tokens 
on one ability track during a game.

You may Pay 1PP to activate any available abilities, even those on the Intern Coaster (or 
abilities provided by future expansions),
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This document will be updated to reflect any new 
rules decisions or clarifications that may occur due 
to questions posed through email, Twitter, and 
BGG forums. If you have a question or have an 
interesting rules situation that has not been fully 
covered in these pages, please feel free to contact 
Dice Hate Me Games or the designer through one 
of the above means. As always, thanks for playing.
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