
Tidal Blades Heroes of the Reef: part 1, Errata and Clarifications, 1st reprinting. February 2021

We have heard your feedback and have made some adjustments to make things as clear as possible.

PRINTING THIS DOCUMENT
This document is designed to print on A4 (210mm x 
297mm), or Letter (8.5” X 11”) sized paper. In your printer 
settings, uncheck ‘scale to size’ or check ‘actual size’. 

CLARIFICATIONS 
Most of the updates in the game files are clarifications and do 
not have an effect on gameplay. Any images show the correct or 
updated version of the file.

errata & clarifications

DANGER DIE LEVEL 2
The quantity of blank faces on the yellow Level 2 Danger 
die is two. This was printed incorrectly on the Player 
Reference cards and rulebook in the first printing.

CITADEL OF TIME 
The Night icon has been added to the last Round on the 
Citadel of time board. The Night round is resolved at the 
end of each Round of the game. 1  2

CHOOSE OR DRAW TWO CHALLENGES

Temple of the Breaking Wave Meditation Spring

Citadel of time

1
2 3

4

Temple of the Breaking Wave Meditation Spring

Citadel of time
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CHOOSE OR DRAW TWO CHALLENGES

MONSTER CARDS
There are seven basic Monsters and nine Advanced 
Monsters, not six and ten. This was incorrectly printed in 
the rulebook on the first printing.
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GENERAL QUESTIONS
Which side of the Citadel of Time board should I start 
with if this is my first time playing?

We recommend the side with four rounds (no Tryouts 
round) as the game will be quicker. However, many 
players have reported they prefer the five round game as 
it is a slightly slower start and gives you more time to get 
your bearings. Either will work.

Temple of the Breaking Wave: do I get to choose one 
of the three options?

The Temple of the Breaking Wave offers three unique 
action spaces. When a Character is placed there, they 
choose one of the options. When another Character is 
placed there they may choose either of the two remaining 
spaces.

If someone takes the first player token in the middle 
of the day (round), does the next turn start with them? 
Or do they become first player on the next beginning 
day(round)?

They become the First Player at the start of the next 
round.

What is an average score for Tidal Blades?

Scores usually range from 20-50 using the standard setup 
and four round game

Can I visit an Island if all of the Action spaces are 
already taken?

Yes, you can always visit an Island to gain the bonus from 
that Island and attempt a Challenge.

What are the starting Challenges? How are they 
distributed?

Each Character receives the 3 Starting Challenges that 
show their image in the top left corner. 3

Do Judge Challenges count for endgame goals?

Completed Judge Challenges do not have an Island 
affiliation for the purpose of Fighting Style, Goals, or 
Challenge sets, but do count for other goals.

What is considered a Spirit Challenge?

Any Challenge that has at least one Spirit symbol is 
considered a Spirit Challenge.

With the Expert Rigging Stunt card, do I gain rewards 
for each space passed or only the space the boat lands 
on?

You will gain the reward for each space the boat passes 
and the final space the boat lands on.

Can I use the  wild symbol as any Trait symbol or 
only the symbol found elsewhere on the die?

A  can be used as any Trait symbol.

ICONS

Challenge Card

This symbol, unless specified on a card, 
allows you to draw or choose a face-up 
Challenge from the Citadel of Time.

Trait Increase

This symbol allows you to advance any Trait 
dial 1 space.

Market Card +1 Champion Board

These symbols both advance you 1 on the 
Champion Board.

Rival Disc

This is the Rival Disc used in the solo game.
Unlock the 

Yamazi Crate
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PLAYER TURNS & CHARACTERS
How many actions do I get in a round?

You get one action for each Action Disc you have. In a 4 
Round game you will take 2 Actions in Round 1, 3 Actions 
in Rounds 2 and 3, and 4 Actions in Round 4.

Does your turn start once you move to an island or 
could you play a stunt card before you move and 
technically still be on the island you moved to the 
previous turn?

You may not play a stunt card before you move.

Is a hero required to move to a *different* island each 
turn? Or are they allowed to spend an action disc 
and remain on the island where their standee/mini is 
already located?

Your hero may take an action on the same island as their 
previous action. They still must place a new action disc 
and move to a new space on that island, or to the outskirts 
of the island if all action spaces are full.

Is four Character cards the limit you can get in one 
game? 

In a standard game you can only obtain 4 Character cards 
+ your Shell Shield. In Advanced modes, there are some 
Monsters and Market cards which allow you to obtain 
additional Character cards.

What do the Favored Traits listed on the Character 
backstory cards mean?

The Favored Traits tell you which traits your Character 
Cards will reward you for.

If I have a Character card that lets me use a symbol as 
wild (for example, Tsuro’s Transverser), can I use that 
ability to use a blue die to hit an armored Monster 
spot which would normally require a red Initiate die?

No, the color of the die must match the Armored spot.

“Crocodile Armor” says, “when you are alone...” does 
that mean the only character on an island or the only 
character on a space?

Only character on an Island - see Almanac page 3.

How do you upgrade your Shell Shield?

There are two upgrades to your Shell Shield shuffled 
randomly into your Character deck. They are played in 
the same manner as other Character cards. When the 
Advanced Shell Shield is played you cover up your Shell 
Shield, moving all Shells on it to the new Shield - see 
Almanac page 3.

Can you store more than 6 Shells on the Shell Shield? 

At the end of your turn, you have a maximum of 6 Shells 
on your Shell Shield. During your turn you may place 
additional Shells onto your Shell Shield, but those Shells 
must be used or discarded before the end of your turn.

Can I use Axl’s Unfailing Optimism multiple times per 
Challenge?

No, you only “use” the die when assigning hits or 
completing a Challenge, thus, you may only change one 
die total per Challenge or fight.

How do the Artifact Character cards work?

These cards function identically to the other Character 
cards with the exception that they can be permanently 
discarded for an additional effect.

REFRESHING & UPGRADING DICE
Can I use my Resilience to Upgrade the same die 
multiple times during the Refresh phase?

No. Resilience score specifies the number of dice you may 
choose to Upgrade, rather than the amount of Upgrades 
you get to distribute.

If I choose an Unspent die to Upgrade with my 
Resilience, can I Refresh a different die? 

No. If you Upgrade an unspent die with Resilience, you 
will lose out on the Refresh.
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MONSTER FIGHTING
What are the Basic Monsters? 

Basic Monsters are those we recommend for use the first 
time you play the game. They are marked with a compass 
symbol on the front of the cards. There are 3 Easy and 3 
Hard Basic Monsters.

How many basic and advanced Monsters are included 
in the base game?

There are 7 basic Monster cards and 9 advanced Monster 
cards. This was misprinted in the first printing of the 
rulebook.

Can you keep re-rolling for Challenges and Monster 
Fights, even if your rolls would hit?

You are allowed to re-roll any dice, even if they match 
a challenge requirement, or hit a monster. However, 
on Challenges, you are only allowed to re-roll dice if 
you have not matched all the symbols to complete the 
Challenge and any Push-it symbols. Flavorfully, this 
represents the Judges ending the Challenge as soon as 
you have completed it. For Monsters, there is no Judge 
to stop the fight, so you may keep re-rolling until you get 
the symbols you wish. 

Do you really lose all dice when fighting Monsters, it 
seems extremely punishing?

You always lose all dice you fight a monster with.

Help! I lost all my dice fighting Monsters, how do I get 
dice again?

Dice can be gained from Islands, market cards, and stunt 
cards. Managing your dice pool and deciding when and 
how many dice to fight a monster with is one of the key 
decision points in the game. One important thing when 

fighting Monsters is to gain at least one level in the 
Fighting Style of that Monster so you gain a free die to use 
in the battle. In this way you can commit less dice each 
fight and still make it worthwhile to battle them.

If the monster invades and you cannot pay the 
penalty, what happens? Example 1: the Two-Headed 
Hydra asks to discard 2 Fruit and 2 Shells, I have 3 
Fruit and 1 Shell: should I just lose 2 Fruit and 1 Shell?

You must pay as much as you are able, but there is no 
negative if you cannot pay the penalty. So in the example 
you would pay 2 Fruit and 1 Shell. 

Can I choose to not use the bonus die gained before a 
Monster fight and keep it?

No. Bonus dice must be used in the Monster dice and 
cannot be saved. 

How does the Warded effect on Monsters work?

You must expend the required Symbol to breach the ward 
before you can assign hit tokens. So, against the Slobfish 
you must spend one Focus symbol from a die you rolled 
before you can apply any symbols to hits on the Slobfish. 
You do not apply any Hit tokens to the Monster for hitting 
their Warded space, but will still advance that Trait - see 
Almanac page 9.

For twin monsters, must you say which of the 2 sides 
you are attacking before rolling?

No. You choose when assigning hits.

What happens to my hit tokens if a Monster flees or 
the game ends?

Hit tokens on the Monsters are counted at game end even 
if the Monster flees or is still alive in the Fold at game end.

SOLO MODE
What is the Rival board? 

The Rival board is the board used in two-player and solo-
mode that details how the Rival works. It has two sides: a 
Two-Player mode side, and a Solo mode side.

What happens with the “Knocked Out” plot card?

Knocked Out reduces all of your Trait dials, besides 
Synergy, by 2 notches.

When playing the solo version of the game, what 
happens if you reach the end of the champion track 
before you finish the 4th round? 

You win immediately!

If your rival goes to the Fold and covers an Armored 
spot, does the Rival move an additional +1 on the 
Champion Board?

No, the Rival does not get additional rewards from 
Armored Spots. 
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With the Judgenapped Plot card what happens if 
the Monster that has the Judge flees before I can kill 
it? 

In this unfortunate circumstance, you have lost your 
chance to rescue the judge, and will suffer the penalty at 
the end of the game.

Rigged Plot: what happens if I fail the Challenge?

If you fail in your attempt to complete the Challenge 
from Rigged Plot it stays in play and you have to attempt 
it again. 

If I lose hits on a Monster from a Plot effect, do I move 
down on the Champion Board?

No.

ANGLER’S COVE
Can you play Angler’s Cove with two players or solo?

Angler’s Cove can be played with 2 players but is not 
compatible with the solo rules. 

You can use Sagashi as your Character or Ally in the solo 
game.

Should I keep the 5-player cards separate or is there a 
way to tell not to use them in a 4 or lower player game. 
Or does it not matter?

The Challenges and Monsters that come in Angler’s 
Cove expansion are only used when playing with the 
expansion. The 5th character Sagashi can be played with 
the base game.

Does Sagashi’s “Flamboyant Contestant” count dice 
set to  by the Shell Shield?

No, it only counts  rolled naturally.

When playing as Sagashi, can I use the Character Card 
“Boundless Mobility” when going to the Fold’s Edge 
and Angler’s Cove to avoid fighting a Monster or 
getting an Outcast token?

Yes, Sagashi is fast enough on his glider to evade the 
monsters and reap a nice sheller harvest. If you use it at 
Angler’s Cove, you will not get an Outcast token, but you 
will also not be able to attempt a Challenge.

How do I do the Angler’s Cove Monster setup?

Take the Angler’s Cove Monsters. Shuffle in an Easy 
Monster marked on the back with the Chronosseum sign 
together with the Angler’s Cove Easy Monster, and place 
them on top of the Angler’s Cove Hard Monster. Place 
these on top of the shuffled deck of Hard Monsters.

How do I do the Angler’s Cove Challenge setup?

Shuffle the three Legendary Judge Challenges together 
with the nine Angler’s Cove Challenges to make the 
Legendary Challenge deck. This deck follows the 
Legendary Challenges rules in the Advanced Rules on 
page 8 of the Almanac.

How can I add more variety to Angler’s Cove Monsters 
and Challenges?

1) You can substitute any three Legendary Challenges 
for the Judge Challenges, where all three Arenas are 
represented equally. These can be from the same set or 
from different sets. 

2) You can set up two Legendary Challenge decks, 
replacing another one of the normal Challenge spaces -- 
one as per the Angler’s Cove setup, and one as detailed in 
the Legendary Challenges section. 

3) You are welcome to use different Monsters with 
Angler’s Cove. It will reduce some of the control players 
have over their Outcast tokens, which will slightly increase 
randomness in the outcome.

Monster Variant for Angler’s Cove

Instead of taking the reward for a Monster, you may 
discard an Outcast token instead. During setup, place 
five face down Outcast tokens on the Fold. Whenever a 
Monster invades, if there are Outcast tokens left on the 
Fold, players who suffer the penalty also draw one of 
those Outcast tokens. If the Fold supply runs out during 
an invasion, remaining affected players take from the 
general supply. The Fold supply is not replenished after 
it is emptied. This will increase the value of fighting 
monsters slightly.


