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Designed by Morten Monrad Pedersen with Lieve Teugels and Nick Shaw
Rules for solo play

COMPONENTS
1 double-sided Automa 
income mat

 22 decision cards

 2 Automa income cards

 2 Automa civilization cards

2 Automa player aid cards

INTRODUCTION
This rulebook introduces a system for adding two artificial players, the Automa and the Shadow 
Empire. They take the place of human players and are collectively known as bots.

You can use the Automa and the Shadow Empire together to play by yourself or you can use just 
the Shadow Empire with 2 human players. For the latter, read the separate rule sheet.

To reduce your effort, the Automa and Shadow Empire play by their own simpler rules. Any rule 
not explicitly overridden here is still in effect, which includes you following the multiplayer rules.

COMPONENTS TO REMOVE
Remove these tapestries from the game: Age of Sail*, Alliance, Coal Baron*, Dictatorship, 
Diplomacy*, Espionage*, Marriage of State, Oil Magnate, Olympic Host, Steam Tycoon*, Trade 
Economy*, and 2 traps.

Remove these civilizations from the game: Futurists*, Heralds*, Inventors*, and Traders.

*These components may be used, but they will either unfairly benefit or hurt you.

AUTOMA

Designer’s Note: Our artificial opponents got the name 
“Automa” from the Italian word for “automaton,” 

chosen because the first opponent we made was for 
the game Viticulture, which is set in Italy. Well, the 
Shadow Empire didn’t get its name this way.
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SETUP
Set up as you would for a 3-player game except that you always start on the territory labeled 
“2/4” no matter which capital city mat you’re using.

Set up for yourself following the normal rules, then for the bots:

1.  Choose a color for the Automa. Give it the following components and nothing else:

 a. The Automa income mat with the normal side up. 

 b.  All outposts of its color. Place 2 of them on the territory labeled “3/5”.

 c.  All player tokens of its color: Place 1 on 0 VP and 1 on the starting space of each 
advancement track.

 d.  Roll the science die and place the Automa civilization card side with the corresponding icon 
face-up on the Automa’s income mat.

 e.  Place 1 of the Automa’s outposts next to the track indicated by the heart icon on its 
civilization card. This is the Automa’s favorite track.

2.  Choose a color for the Shadow Empire. Give it the following components and nothing else:

 a. All outposts of its color.

 b.  Five player tokens. Place 1 on the starting space of each advancement track. Set 1 aside.

 c.  Roll the science die until you get a track different than the Automa’s favorite track. Place 1 
of its outposts by this track. This is the Shadow Empire’s favorite track.

3.  Shuffle decision cards 8-22 (they have rectangles in the bottom right 
corner—the color is irrelevant) to form the face-down progress deck. 

4.  Shuffle the topmost card from the progress deck and the 7 remaining decision cards 
(1-7, with a circle in the bottom right corner) to form the face-down decision deck.

THE SHADOW EMPIRE
The Shadow Empire increases the competition for landmarks and the “complete any advancement 
track” achievement.

 • It follows a small subset of the Automa’s rules.

 •  It functions as a neighbor and opponent for both you and the Automa.

 •  Note that it never places its outposts; those are instead placed as part of the Automa’s 
conquer actions.
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ENGINEERS

INCOME TURNS 2-5: The Automa gains 1  
extra for each landmark it has.
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CONQUERORS

INCOME TURNS 2-5:
•  If the Automa controls fewer territories than the income 

turn number, it does a conquer action.
•  If more than 2 territories controlled by the Automa have 

only 1 token, place a toppled Shadow Empire outpost on 
one of those (use hex tiebreaker).

INCOME TURNS 2-5: The Automa gains 1  extra for each 
territory it controls.
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INCOME TURN

  Bot at end of favorite track  
or less advanced than another 
marker, change favorite  
to  or .

 Advance both bots using the 
last decision card pair.

Gain income turn bonus from 
civilization card.

  Add 2 cards from the progress deck 
to the decision-deck discard pile.

  Place card from tapestry deck 
face down on the leftmost free 
tapestry space.

   Shuffle the decision deck.

?

?

?
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CONQUER NEUTRAL
VALID HEXES
1. Can be conquered or explored:
2. Adjacent to you: Onlyif .

TIEBREAKERS
1.  Can gain “middle island” 

achievement: 
Closest to the middle island.

2.  If you have a 1-token territory: 
Closest to such territories.

3.  Otherwise: Closest to your 
territories.

4. Hex tiebreaker.

ACTIONS
1.  Empty hex: Draw and place random 

tile.
2. Place Automa outpost.
3. : Place toppled SE outpost.
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A BOT TURN
The bot pair take their turn together either before or after you depending on whether you’re first 
player or not.

If you need to draw a decision card and the decision deck is empty, the bots take an income turn 
(see Income Turn on p. 4). Otherwise follow this procedure:

1. Discard the decision card pair from last turn (if any).

2.  Draw the topmost 2 cards of the decision deck and place them face up randomly as a decision 
card pair.

3.  If the decision deck is now empty and the track card has an income icon, the 
bots take their income turn and you skip the last step of this procedure.

4. Otherwise:

 a. Advance on a track for the Automa.

 b. Advance on a track for the Shadow Empire.

You can look through the discard pile at any time.

ADVANCE ON A TRACK
The blue track indicator icon on the track card defines one or more valid tracks for the Automa. 
The Shadow Empire uses the same icons in grey and with an “S” on them.

The valid tracks are:

 All tracks where the bot hasn’t reached the end.

  The track(s) with the shortest distance from the bot’s token to either an unclaimed 
landmark or the end of the track. Ignore tracks where it has reached the end.

  The track(s) with the shortest distance from the bot’s token to the end of the track. 
Ignore tracks where it has reached the end.

  If more than one track is valid, the bot advances on the track that’s first in the track 
tiebreaker section on the tiebreaker card—top to bottom for the Automa and bottom to 
top for the Shadow Empire.

  Indicates the bot’s favorite track.

Example: If the military and technology tracks are valid for an Automa advance, the tiebreakers on 
the right would make it pick the technology track.

S

S

WHAT THE BOTS NEVER GAIN
The bots only gain what’s explicitly mentioned in this rulebook (e.g., they never gain income 
buildings or resources, and the Shadow Empire also never gains VP).

ANATOMY OF A DECISION CARD
Decision cards consist of several elements:

The Card ID number has no gameplay function. The other card elements are explained later.

A DECISION CARD PAIR
Decision cards are placed as pairs on the table to determine what the bots do:

The left card is called the track card and the right card is called the tiebreaker card. Only the 
active section (highlighted in purple) is used during the turn.

S

S

1

AutTap_DecisionCards_r5.indd   1 4/11/19   10:22 PM

Track tiebreakers Automa track indicator

Shadow Empire  
track indicator

Income indicator

Card type

Card ID

Hex tiebreaker

Toppled outpost 
indicator

S

S

7

AutTap_DecisionCards_r5.indd   7 4/11/19   10:22 PM

S

S

8

AutTap_DecisionCards_r5.indd   8 4/11/19   10:22 PM
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Track card Tiebreaker card
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BENEFITS
•  When advancing to a new space the Automa only gains benefits from icons that are listed in 

this chart. Benefits and text not shown here are ignored.

•  If a benefit is granted multiple times on a space, the Automa only gains it once.

• The Shadow Empire never gains benefits.

• Neither bot gains bonuses.

LANDMARKS
If either bot gains a landmark, place it in the  box on the Automa’s income mat. All 
landmarks there belong to the Automa. 

THE HEX TIEBREAKER
All procedures for placing tiles and outposts on the board use the hex tiebreaker to choose 1 hex 
among a set of valid hexes.

Using the hex tiebreaker icon on the tiebreaker card, start with the hex that the black arrow 
points to. Look at the hexes in order along the row in the direction indicated by that arrow.

If you don’t reach a valid hex, go on to the row pointed at by the gray arrow, then the row 
beyond that, etc. Continue until you reach a valid hex. The Automa chooses this hex.

The first valid hex you reach is the one labeled 9, so the Automa places a territory tile there.

NORMAL BENEFIT AUTOMA BENEFIT

or Roll and advance on the indicated track (with or without the 
benefit).

Discard all 3 face-up tech cards and replace them.

or See Conquer.

or See Explore.

/ /

/
Roll  until it selects one of the indicated tracks. Carry out the 
corresponding advancement/regression.

Give the Automa a tapestry card face down next to its mat.

ANYWHERE

ANYWHERE

Example: The hexes with 
purple borders are the valid 
hexes for an explore action. 
Using the hex tiebreaker 
icon on the left you go 
through the hexes in the 
numbered order. 4

5 6
1

7
2

8
39

DISTANCE
Some of the Automa actions refer to a hex closest to a specific hex. This is the hex that is the 
fewest hexes away, not “as the crow flies”, but via the shortest path of hexes with 0 Automa 
outposts and 0-1 of your tokens (i.e., a path along which the Automa could do a series of 
conquests). The path can include empty hexes.

CONQUER
The Automa’s conquer actions are divided into 2 different procedures:

1.  If the Automa can legally conquer a territory you control, carry out the 
Conquer Opponent procedure.

2. Otherwise carry out the Conquer Neutral procedure.

CONQUER OPPONENT
Valid territories: All territories you control, which the Automa can legally conquer, are valid.

Tiebreakers

1.  If the Automa can still gain the “middle island” achievement, only the valid territories closest 
to the middle island remain valid.

2.  Use the hex tiebreaker to pick one territory among the valid ones.

Action: Place an outpost from the Automa’s supply on the chosen territory and topple your 
outpost, or the Automa’s outpost if you play a trap. 

CONQUER NEUTRAL
Valid Hexes

1.  All hexes that can legally be conquered or explored by the Automa are valid.

2.  Hexes adjacent to territories you control are only valid if a  icon is on the tiebreaker card.

If there are no valid hexes, skip the action.

Tiebreakers

1.  If the Automa can still gain the “middle island” achievement, only the valid hexes closest to 
the middle island remain valid.

2.  If you control any territories that have a single token on them, only valid hexes closest to such 
territories remain valid.

3.  If you don’t control a territory with a single token on it, only valid hexes closest to any territory 
you control remain valid.

4. Use the hex tiebreaker to pick one hex among the valid ones.

Actions

1.  If the Automa is conquering an empty hex: Draw a territory tile and place it face-up with a 
random orientation on the chosen hex.

2.  Place an outpost from the Automa’s supply (of its own color) on the conquered territory.

3.  If the  icon is on the tiebreaker card and the conquered terrain isn’t the middle island, 
place one of the Shadow Empire’s outposts toppled on the territory.

EXPLORE
Valid hexes: All hexes that the Automa can legally explore are valid. If there 
are none, skip this action.

Tiebreakers

1.  If the Automa doesn’t have military as its favorite track, then only the valid hexes furthest 
from territories you control remain valid.

2.  Use the hex tiebreaker to pick one hex among the valid ones.

Action: Draw a territory tile and place it face up with a random orientation on the  
chosen hex.

ANYWHERE

Designer’s note: The Automa implements these icons 
(and not others) because they relate to interactions 
between players.

ANYWHERE
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Note that contrary to human players, the Automa gains VP before playing a tapestry card and it 
almost exclusively gains VP during income turns.

 If the Automa is the first to start a new era, it gains the VP shown.

Example: During income turn 3, the multipliers are x2, x1, and x1, respectively. This means that the Automa 
gains 2 VP per territory it controls, 2 VP per landmark on its mat, 1 VP for each advance on the military and 
science tracks, and 1 VP for each advance on the exploration and technology tracks.  If it was the first to 
start a new era, it also gains 3 VP.

   Add the 2 topmost cards from the progress-deck to the decision deck discard pile.

   Place a card from the tapestry deck (not from the Automa’s tapestry cards) face down 
on the leftmost empty tapestry space on the Automa’s income mat.

   Shuffle all the decision deck cards from the most recent era (including any gained this 
income turn) to form a new face-down decision deck.

GAME END
Determine the winner following the instructions in the normal rulebook. The Shadow Empire 
doesn’t participate in determining the winner at the end of the game. Only you or the Automa can 
win.

©2019 Stonemaier LLC. Tapestry is a trademark of Stonemaier LLC. All Rights Reserved.

TRAPS
If you conquer a territory controlled by the Automa and it has any tapestry cards next to its mat:

1. Discard one of its tapestry cards at random.

2.  If that card was a trap, the Automa retains control of the territory and your outpost enters play 
toppled.

3.  Repeat this procedure until the Automa either discards a trap or runs out of tapestry cards.

ACHIEVEMENTS
•  The Automa earns achievements and the VP from them in the same way as you, except that 

only your outposts count towards the “topple 2 opponent outposts” achievement.

•  The Shadow Empire can only earn the “complete any advancement track” achievement but 
gains no VP from doing so.

INCOME TURNS
The Automa gains what’s listed on the income chart on its mat, top to bottom, left column first.

If the Automa takes an action during an income turn that requires tiebreaking, draw and use the 
top card of the progress deck in turn 1 (reshuffle afterwards) and the latest tiebreaker card in 
income turns 2-5.

  If a bot’s token has reached the end of its favorite track or if there’s a further 
advanced token there, then its favorite track becomes the track that would be 
chosen by  or . Move its “favorite” outpost there (it could be the same 
track or the favorite of the other bot).

  Advance track tokens of both bots using the most recent decision card pair. The 
Automa gains the benefits (if any). This means that the Automa will do an advance 
and gain income during a single turn. It also means that the most recent card pair 
is sometimes used twice.

  The Automa gains the income turn bonus (if any) from its civilization card.

  

 The Automa gains VP for each landmark on its mat and for each controlled territory. 

 The Automa gains VP for each space advanced on each of the indicated tracks.

For each of the VP icons, multiply the number of advancements/landmarks/territories by the 
leftmost multiplier not covered by a tapestry card.

??

?

DIFFICULTY LEVELS
You can choose one of the difficulty levels below to get the level of challenge you want. The 
setup instructions use “Automa the Average”. For levels 1, 3, and 4 you must cover the income 
chart of the Automa’s mat with the corresponding income card. For levels 5 and 6, flip the 
Automa’s mat to the Hard side.

 •  Track icons indicate track advances to be performed in the usual way, as the first event in 
income turn 1.

 •  On level 6, the Automa starts with an extra civilization (your choice). That civilization card’s 
favorite track has no effect. During income turns, apply the effects of the first civilization 
before the second. 

INCOME TURN 1: YOU INCOME TURN 1: BOTS INCOME MAT

1—Automa the Underachiever Normal

2—Automa the Average Normal

3—Automa the Slightly Intimidating Normal

4—Automa the Somewhat Awesome Normal

5—Automa the Definitely Awesome Advance on  
favorite track Hard

6—Automa the Crusher of Dreams Hard?
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