
T H E  R U L E S

WATCH THE  
HOW-TO-PLAY VIDEO!



Navigate the maze of silk 
roads from Istanbul to 
Shanghai, while visiting 
specific attractions along  
the way! 
Sounds easy, right? Try adding a 
few punctures, potholes and dodgy 
accommodation into the mix! Not to 
mention the other teams racing to get to 
Shanghai before you.

Will you outsmart your rivals by finding 
shortcuts? Sabotage them by stealing 
their fuel? Or perhaps you’ll be bribing 
the border guards with cookies?

 
GET TO SHANGHAI 
VIA YOUR ATTRACTIONS

DON’T GO BROKE 
OR YOU’LL END UP IN AN EMBASSY

KEEP FRIENDS CLOSE 
AND ENEMIES EVEN CLOSER

What’s in the box
1x Game Board 
Place this in the middle of  
the table.

70 Ignition Cards 
You’ll pick one of these up each 
turn unless at a border.

30 Attraction Cards 
These will define your route from 
Istanbul to Shanghai.

70 Action Cards 
Pick these up instead of a move 
and pocket them for later.

35 Border Cards 
You’ll start your turn by picking 
one of these up, if at a border.

100 Bank Cards 
You’ll need to pay for 
accommodation and other costs

20 Fuel Tokens 
You’ll need these to cross borders. 
Keep them safe.

1 Dice 
Roll to pass certain roads and 
for extra perks.

5 Playing Pieces 
Choose your colour wisely. It makes 
absolutely no difference!



Setup

Ignition, Border and Action Cards  
Shuffle and place these in the corners of 
the board (as labelled). 

Attraction Cards : 2 Players = 3 cards each. 3+ Players = 2 cards each.
Every player should now be given their Attraction Cards. These are the key destinations 
they must visit on their route to Shanghai in order to finish the race. Attraction Cards 
also give a bonus (as shown on the card) to the players once they are visited. Shuffle the 
deck, place it face down, and roll the dice. The highest scorer picks their cards first. 

Your attractions must be located in different countries. If anyone is dealt attractions in 
the same country, they must return a card to the bottom of the deck, and take a new 
card from the top. (Repeat if this happens again!)

Players can look at their Attraction Cards and start to plan which countries their routes 
will take them through. Once potential routes have been investigated, the Attraction 
Cards are set face down, hidden from other players.

Dish out the dollar and create the bank  
Start by choosing a banker. Each player is given a total of $450. Set up the 
bank float to the side of the board.

Each player receives: Bank float:

Fuel Tokens 
Place these on the oil platform in the ocean.

Shuffle the remaining Bank Cards and place them face down on 
the ‘ATM’ corner of the board.

1x 
$100

3x 
$100

4x 
$50

5x 
$50

6x 
$25

ALL REMAINING 
$25



Let’s get started
Draw an IGNITION CARD, read it aloud 
and do what it says. No need to pay 
accommodation tonight. 

The first player to get to Shanghai via 
their Attraction Cards wins, but your 
journey won’t be that easy. 

You can make 3 moves each turn 
(possibly!). On your way, you’ll 
need to pick up Fuel Tokens (these 
are needed to cross borders), keep 
an eye on your remaining money 
(visit ATMs to top up), pay for 
accommodation (Hostels $25/Hotels 
$50) and avoid general motoring 
mayhem (Action Cards will help).

• You can’t cross a border 
without a Fuel Token!

• Keep an eye on your money  
and visit a bank if low.

• Pick up an Ignition Card at 
the start of your turn, or a 
Border Card if at a border 
crossing.

• You must finish your turn 
on a Hostel, Hotel or Border 
(unless you have a tent).

• Don’t forget to pay for your 
accommodation in the 
morning!

You must finish your turn on either a 
Hostel, Hotel or Border, unless you have a 
tent allowing you to stay at an attraction 
(an Action Card perk!). 
 
Your accommodation must be paid for at the 
start of your next turn, after picking up an 
Ignition card: Hostels cost $25, Hotels cost 
$50 and Borders are free.

Your turn has 3 MOVES (unless your Ignition 
Card says otherwise).You can either:
• Move your piece (1 space per move)
• Pick up an ACTION CARD (1 card per move) 
• A combination of the above 

ON YOUR 1st TURN

IGNITION CARDS must be drawn at the start of 
every turn (except at border crossings - more on 
that later). Ignition Cards will start your turn with a 
bang (this can be a good or a bad thing!). 

ACTION CARDS will help you along the way, 
allow you to slow down other teams, and 
generally get an advantage. Play up to 2 Action 
Cards on your turn. The card will tell you when 
you are allowed to play it.

Border crossings are never easy. When 
arriving at a border, you can’t pass through 
until your next turn (unless you have a special 
card). On your next turn, pick up a Border 
Card instead of an Ignition Card (unless you 
wish to remain in the same country).



Stayed at a Hostel or Hotel last night? 
Draw an Ignition Card and pay for your 
accommodation. 
 
Stayed at border? 
Draw a Border Card if you want to pass into 
the next country. If you want to stay where 
you are or remain in the same country, draw 
an Ignition Card.

FROM YOUR 2nd TURN  

You must always end your turn at a Hostel, Hotel or 
Border...unless you have a tent. Don’t forget to pay any 

accommodation due on your next turn!

DIRT ROAD 
Roll an even 

number to pass.  
1 roll per move. 

HOSTEL 
$25 per night

HOTEL 
$50 per night

BORDER 
Free to stay at

TOLL ROAD 
$25 to pass

Along the way
Not all roads are made equal! 
You’ll need to plan your route. 
Always end your turn at a Hostel, 
Hotel or Border, and don’t forget 
to pay for your accommodation 
the next turn.

BORDERS 
You can use the borders to grab a 
free night’s stay, or just as a normal 
stop while moving from A to B 
(you can go from any space onto a 
border, and back onto another space 
in the same country in a single turn). 
If you intend to cross, you must end 
your turn at the border and wait for 
your next turn to try and cross.

DIRT ROADS 
A dirt road requires 1 move to pass, but you can only pass if you successfully roll an even number. 
Unsuccessful rolls will still cost you a move. Remember, you can only stay at Hostels, Hotels or 
Borders, so if you spend moves trying to roll an even, and you don’t have enough moves left to 
finish at a Hostel/Hotel/Border, you will have to go back to the nearest valid overnight spot. 



IGNITION CARDS 
These should be picked up at the start of every turn, and before you play any 
Action Cards, unless you are at a border and wish to cross into another country.

Sometimes the news is good, sometimes it’s bad - but that’s just life!

While doing this journey in real life, our founders had 7 flat tyres, one lost 
wallet, and had to ask mum to wire some money too!

ACTION CARDS 
Empowering you with a crucial arsenal to hinder your opponents, Action Cards 
should be key to your strategy.

You can hold up to 5 Action Cards at any one time. Even with a full hand, you 
can still pick up additional cards in exchange for a move and then discard your 
weakest cards to strengthen your hand.

You can play up to 2 Action Cards on your turn. You can’t play Action Cards if 
you are stuck at an embassy, but they also can’t be played against you.

BORDER CARDS 
Every border crossing is different, and that holds true in Route East too. 
Sometimes you’ll get through with just a $25 charge, while at other times, it’ll be 
more complicated. 
 
Remember! You can use a border while travelling within the same country as a 
normal space, even if eventually staying a Hostel or a Hotel. You can also stay 
at borders for free and carry on your next turn in the same country (by picking 
up an Ignition Card). However, if you want to cross from one country to another, 
you’ll have to stop overnight and pick up a Border Card at the start of your next 
turn.

BANK CARDS & ATMs 
Keeping track of your remaining Bank Cards is vital in Route East. 
Running out of money will send you to the local embassy 
where you’ll have to stay for two turns.

When you visit an ATM, you can pick up one Bank 
Card. Remember, you can’t stay the night at an ATM 
so this can’t be your final move. If you still need 
more money from the ATM, you’ll need to move 
off the ATM space and then back again.



EMBASSIES 
If you end up in an embassy, something has 
gone wrong!

More details are in the ‘What if’ section. 
Unless otherwise instructed, you can’t end 
your turn at an embassy.

CASPIAN SEA 
Before crossing the sea, take a Border Card 
and do as it says. Once through the border, 
move your piece onto the boat. You must 
then roll a 6 to complete the crossing. If you 
do not successfully roll a 6 on your first turn, 
wait until your next turn to try again (no 
need to draw any cards – just take your 3 
rolls). If this fails again, you’ll automatically 
cross on your next turn (3rd). Take 3 moves 
without picking up a Border Card or 
Ignition Card. The border on the other side 
of the sea doesn’t use a move.

You won’t need to draw a second Border 
Card at all during the crossing. You can’t 
use a magic-roll. When you roll a 6, any 
remaining moves can be used on dry land.

ATMs 
Visit an ATM as many times as you like 
(collect one Bank Card per visit). Remember, 
you can’t stay the night there, so you’ll need 
to go back and forth using multiple moves.  

TOP TIP: Don’t run out of money.

ATTRACTIONS 
Visiting these is kinda the whole point! 
You can’t stay overnight at an attraction 
(unless you have a tent). When you land on 
your attraction, you can turn the Attraction 
Card face up, and then that attraction is 
completed. Claim the card’s bonus. If you 
forget, it’s too late – no bonus for you!

Down to your last attraction to visit? Place 
the card face up so others can see.

En route

FUEL STATIONS 
Pass through a fuel station to pick up a 
Fuel Token. You’ll need one of these (or 
a special Action Card) for every border 
crossing. You can’t end your turn at fuel 
stations.    
 
TOP TIP: Not all countries have fuel 
stations. Plan ahead!

DON’T FORGET TO PAY FOR  
YOUR ACCOMMODATION!



My Ignition Card says I have to pay a fine - 
who do I pay? 
All fines, charges or tolls are paid directly into the Bank - 
unless your card states otherwise.    
    

What if I’ve run out of money? 
When you have something to pay and you can’t afford it, 
you will move directly to the embassy in the country you 
are in. Take $100 from the Bank and all previous debts 
are forgotten. You must roll a 6 to leave the embassy 
(only 1 roll per turn). You do not pay for accommodation 
while you are stuck here, and you can’t play Action 
Cards. Action Cards also can’t be played against you.

If you roll a 6, you can leave the embassy and take your 3 
moves straight away. If you don’t roll a 6 after two turns 
of being at the embassy, you automatically leave on your 
next turn. Draw an Ignition Card to start your turn. 
   

My Action/Ignition Card says ‘steal $25 from 
another player’, but they don’t have any 
money. What happens? 
You can’t steal money that someone doesn’t have! 
Unfortunately, you get nothing, but it does put the other 
player in a seriously sticky spot. They must now follow 
the steps under ‘What if I’ve run out of money?’

Can I stop on an ATM for 2 consecutive moves 
and collect 2 Bank Cards? 
Nope. You must leave and return to an ATM in order  
to collect multiple Bank Cards.

I’m at a border, but I can’t cross as I don’t have 
a Fuel Token. Do I take an Ignition Card or 
Border Card? 
If you don’t have a Fuel Token to cross, you must take an 
Ignition Card at the start of your turn (and then either 
head towards a fuel station or draw Action Cards and 
hope they give you fuel!). The only exception is if you 
have an Action Card that gives you fuel - you can then 
draw a Border Card and use the Action Card to get you 
through. If you use an Action Card to try and steal a Fuel 
Token from another player, they can use a ‘Hell no!’ card 
and your border crossing will be unsuccessful.

I drew a Border Card, but I can’t afford to cross 
or decided I don’t want to cross. What do I do? 
You can still use your moves to pick up Action Cards, but 
you can’t go back into the country - you’re in no man’s 
land. You can draw an ignition card on your next turn if 
you wish to travel back in the country you came from.

I’ve got 0 moves today/I want to stay where I 
am - do I still have to pay for accommodation? 
Yep, of course. You can’t just bag a free night! 

Watch out for this sign!  
Freight Trains are not allowed within the 
final few spaces of the game.

Money worries Border concerns

Accommodation

It’s time to start playing now, but if you 
get stuck, check back here for answers!



Someone used a ‘Hell no!’ card against me - can 
I use another ‘Hell no!’ back against them? 
Of course! You can ‘Hell no!’ a ‘Hell no!’ card! You can even 
‘Hell no!’ that one too.
  

Can I use a ‘Magic Roll’ Action Card to leave an 
embassy or to cross the Caspian Sea? 
No. Magic Rolls can’t be used when you are trying to roll a 
6 to leave an embassy or cross the Caspian Sea.

I got an extra move from my Ignition Card, can I 
use it as well as a Freight Train Card? 
No - using a Freight Train will always use all of your moves, 
no matter how many moves you have.

An Action/Ignition Card has sent me to an 
embassy. What do I do now? 
If you’re sent to an embassy by an Action Card, you take 
your next turn as normal (draw an Ignition Card). You 
don’t have to pay accommodation fees for any nights you 
stay at an embassy. You can only stay at an embassy if an 
Action Card has sent you, or if you’re bankrupt.

I’m on a Freight Train, and it is passing my 
attraction/a bank/a fuel station - does this 
count? 
No! Of course it doesn’t. You can’t just jump off and back 
on a moving train! If you’re on a Freight Train, none of the 
places you pass through count - no picking up Bank Cards, 
Fuel Tokens, or ticking off attractions. You won’t need to 
worry about paying for toll roads or rolling for dirt roads 
either. You must also finish on a Hostel, Hotel or Border 
(unless you have a tent).

Can I play an Action Card and then a Freight 
Train? 
Freight Train cards must be played on your first move and 
using them ends your turn, but you’re still able to play 
another Action Card. If you choose to play another Action 
Card, this must be done before you play your Freight Train 
as you can only play Action Cards before your last move.

Someone sent me to an Embassy. Do I have to 
pay for accommodation? 
Nope! Regardless of what space you were on before, you 
wake up in the Embassy and therefore don’t need to pay.

What if I’ve run out of fuel, and there isn’t any in the country I’m in? 
This is the result of poor route planning! You’re going to have to spend your moves drawing Action Cards in the hope 
you will get one that helps! Stealing Fuel Tokens or getting lucky and finding a Border Pass Card will get you out of a fuel 
shortage rut.

I rolled to cross a dirt road, but now I don’t have any moves left. Can I stay where I am even if it is a 
bank/attraction/embassy/fuel station? 
Nope! The rules are clear - you can only ever stay the night at a Hostel, Hotel, Border or an Attraction (unless you have 
a tent). If you’re out of moves and you’re unsuccessfully stuck at the start of a dirt road which is not a valid overnight 
location, move your playing piece back the way you came to the nearest Hostel, Hotel or Border.
.

Ignition & Action Card anarchy

Fuel frustrations

Dirt Roads

FIND THE ROUTE EAST RULES AND 
CONTINUALLY UPDATED FAQs AT

www.lostventuregames.com



Based on a true story
Thought the ‘Wing Mirror’ Ignition Card was a bit odd 
(spoiler if you’ve not played yet)?  
 
Well, that’s one of the many weird and frustrating 
things that happened to our founders, Jonny & 
George, on their real-life trip along the Silk Road. 
They travelled through almost all of the countries 
featured in the game, in a tiny car named Judith. 
Their experiences of wild camping, trying to find 
hostels and hotels each night, and running out of 
money in the middle of Iran all helped to shape the 
game you have in front of you now.

We created Route East not only as a nod to our 
experiences along the Silk Road, but also as a 
source of inspiration for you, our players!  

Discover some of the most stunning yet rarely 
heard of destinations in the world. After all, 
when was the last time someone told you they 
were going on holiday to Uzbekistan? 

We hope you enjoy the game and that it 
inspires you to explore some of these places 
in “real life” too. Show us your photos!  
We’d love to see them. #RouteEast 
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