N A
A

2 to 4 players

Ages 10 and up
45 minutes




THE(GAMEJATRAIGI'ANCE

OR
ONLY PREVENTED BY A OBSTACLE

OR OR EXCEPTIONS:
4DISCS KAMIKAZE & EMPEROR

MAXIMUM IF NECESSARY.
IMMEDIATE
EXCHANGE OF CAPTURED
EMPERORS

OBLIGATORY

ENCAMPMENT, THEN TOWER, THEN CASTLE;
CONSTRUCTION SPACES ARE RESTRICTIVE

OR OR BY AN EQUIVALENT BUILDING

OR
BY A HIGHER BUILDING

= SACRIFICE 3 DISCS & PLAY A NEW ACTION

Clarification: During the game, the discs can be stacked.
To keep things simple in the explanations below, the term “stack”
encompasses both single discs and stacks of two, three, or four discs.
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GAMENTURN

stack can move freely on the board, any number of
spaces, even changing direction several times, as long
as there are no obstacles between the stack and its
destination. Obstacles are other stacks (friendly or enemy) and
any space other than movement spaces.
There are three types of moves a stack can make:
Move to an empty space.
Move to Regroup: Move to a space that contains one of
your stacks, adding it to the stack already in that space.
Note: A stack can never have more than 4 discs in it. If
regrouping would create a stack exceeding this number,
that move cannot be made.
Move to Attack: Move to a space that contains one of
your opponents’ stacks to destroy it and take its place.
You can only attack a stack of enemy discs that contains
strictly fewer discs than the attacking stack (except the
Emperor, see page 5). Return the discs of the destroyed
stack to their owner’s reserve; they can be used again as
early as her next Reinforcement phase.

You can never split a stack of discs in order to move some
of them, and you can never attack your own stacks.

Examples of moves that are allowed (in green) and forbidden

Kamikazes: A stack of 4 discs (and only a stack of 4) can (in red):
be attacked and destroyed by a solitary disc (a stack of Cyan wishes to move stack A.
1 single disc). This solitary attacker is called a Kamikaze. He can:

The 4 discs in the attacked stack and the Kamikaze return
to their respective owners' reserves. Therefore stacks of 4
are the strongest, but must beware of kamikazes!

THE DESIGNER

Move to one of the B spaces,

Regroup with stack C to form a stack of 3 discs,
Regroup with stack D to form a stack of 4 discs,
Attack one of the stacks E to take its place.

He cannot:

Attack any of the stacks F, because they have an equal or
greater number of discs,

Regroup with stack G, because stacks higher than 4 discs
are forbidden,

Move to one of the H spaces, because these are not
movement spaces.

THE ILLUSTRATOR
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regs* canyons, mountains, or capitals — in order to earn

to win the game. You can only construct one build-

ing per space; subsequent construction on the same space will
replace the existing building, which will return to its owner.

If you have no more of a particular type of building in your
reserve, you can no longer construct this type of building until
one is replaced and returned to your reserve.

Each type of space has its construction specifications:

Chasms are impassable, and cannot be built on,

Regs* can only accommodate an encampment,

Canyons and capitals can accommodate an encampment,

and then a tower,

Mountains can accommodate an encampment,

then a tower, then a castle.

5uildings must be constructed on construction spaces —

X

In order to construct a building (on an empty space or on a space
already containing a building, you must retrieve one or more
discs from a single stack adjacent to this construction space.
You must retrieve...

1 disc to construct an encampment,

2 discs to upgrade an encampment to a tower,

3 discs to upgrade a tower to a castle.

The discs you remove for construction return to your reserve,
and you can use them as soon as your Reinforcement phase.

The first building constructed on an empty construction
space must always be an encampment. Thereafter, when you
want to replace a building of your color with another, you can
only construct a building with a value precisely one greater. If
you wish to replace an enemy building with one of your color,
you can only construct a building with an equal value, or avalue
precisely one greater.

You can decide to use any or all of the discs from a stack in
order to construct a building.

In order to replace an enemy building with one of your color,
you must sacrifice 1 disc more than the number of discs normally
required for the new building’s construction, and this additional
disc must still come from the same single stack adjacent to the
space containing the enemy building.

* Stony deserts

Examples:

In the example on the left, Cyan can sacrifice a disc from

stack A to build an encampment on space B, C, or D. Because

they were empty, he was not allowed to directly built a tower

on space C or D, or a castle on space D.

In the middle example, Cyan can sacrifice two discs from

stack A to replace one of the encampments on space C or D

with a tower. He cannot replace encampment B because the

terrain cannot support a bigger building. He is not allowed
to directly replace encampment D with a castle.

In the example on the right:

— Cyan can replace the brown encampment at C with a
cyan encampment by sacrificing two discs from stack A.
He cannot replace the brown encampment with a tower,
because the terrain will not support it.

— Cyan can replace the blue encampment at D with a cyan
encampment by retrieving two discs from stack A, or
can replace it with a cyan tower by retrieving all three
discs of stack A.

— Cyan can replace the cyan tower at E with the cyan cas-
tle by sacrificing all three discs from stack A. He cannot
do this by retrieving the one disc B plus two of the discs
from stack A, because you must always retrieve the discs
from one single stack.

— Cyan could replace the white tower at F with a cyan
tower by retrieving the 3 discs from stack A. Even
though the terrain at F supports replacing this tower
with a castle, he cannot do it, because he would need to
have a single stack of 4 discs adjacent to it (stack B is of
no help).

Once per turn, before the Reinforcement phase, you can take
an extra Move or Construct action by sacrificing 3 discs (other
than the Emperor) from your reserve. Return these discs to the
box; they can no longer be used for the rest of the game.
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THE EMPEROR

Each player has an Emperor disc. For the most part, this disc
follows the same rules as all the others; however, there are
a few differences...
Always place this disc visible on top of its stack.
A stack that contains the Emperor can attack an
enemy stack even if it contains an equal number
of discs, and even if it contains another Emperor.
Therefore, an Emperor by itself can defeat a stack
of 1, even if it is another Emperor.
Whenever a stack with an Emperor is attacked by
another stack, the discs of the stack are returned to
their owner, as usual, except for the Emperor, who
is considered to be “captured” and is held captive by
the attacking player. Each enemy Emperor you hold
captive is worth 3
A stack with an Emperor can thus be attacked by:
— Any enemy stack containing strictly more discs,

&=~ his phase takes place every turn, directly after the Action

phase; however, if you have no discs in your reserve, skip
the Reinforcement phase.
If you have discs in your reserve, you must place at least 1

as a reinforcement, according to the following rules:

All the discs must be added to a single stack of your
color that is already on the board; and never added to an
empty space.

You cannot add reinforcements to a stack if it is adjacent
to an enemy building. This constraint is always in effect,
even if the stack is also adjacent to one of your own
buildings. Exception: Only the Emperor can violate

THERE ARE TWO WAYS TO WIN THE GAME:

Each encampment is worth 1

Each tower is worth 2

The castle is worth 3

Each captive Emperor is worth 3
The game ends immediately when a player has amassed
12 total, by adding up the values of her buildings on
the board and any Emperors she has captive, and she
has at least one building built on a capital. She is then
declared the winner.

— An enemy stack with the same number of discs, if

it has an Emperor,

— An enemy Kamikaze, if the Emperor’s stack is a

stack of 4 discs.

Once your Emperor is captured by another player, the only
way to get it back is to exchange another Emperor (any
player’s) for it. If your Emperor is a captive, then as soon
as you capture anyone else’s Emperor (no matter whose),
you must make an exchange in order to rescue your own
Emperor. Your opponent cannot refuse this exchange, and
must give you your own Emperor immediately. Exchanging
Emperors is not considered an action.

You can retrieve your Emperor in order to construct a
building. For this purpose, the Emperor is treated like any
other disc (the construction cost is the same as indicated
above; see “Construct”). The fact that your Emperor is on
top of the stack does not imply that the Emperor must be
spent first.

An Emperor by itself can be used as a Kamikaze.

this placement rule. If the only locations available for
reinforcement are adjacent to enemy buildings, only then
can you add the Emperor to a stack that is adjacent to an
enemy building, but still never to an empty space..

Remember: A stack can never contain more than 4 discs!

If these rules cannot be respected, then it is impossible
for you to bring your discs back into play; you must skip your
Reinforcement phase.

If your Emperor is in your reserve (following a prisoner ex-
change, or as a result of construction), your Emperor must be
returned to play in the Reinforcement phase, if at all possible.

If a player is the only one with discs remaining
OR on the board, she wins the game.
SPECIAL CASES Two rare situations, when only 2 players
remain, result in a tie:
If you use your last disc as a Kamikaze to eliminate your op-
ponent’s last discs, leaving the board empty (except for build-
ings), you both lose, same as anyone eliminated before you.
If you use your last disc as a Kamikaze to capture your
opponent’s Emperor, bringing you to 12 points while you
control a capital, but your opponent still has discs in play,
you both win. You, because you reached 12 points; your
opponent, because everyone else has been eliminated.



VARIANTS

&=~ he Eko box includes 11 small tiles that add new options and effects to the game. You are free to decide whether
to integrate any or all of these into your game. Note that other tiles exist, and will be made available occasionally.
Visit www.sitdown-games.com to learn more. Begin by taking the big, 7-space tiles appropriate for the number of
players (see “Setup” on page 1), and add the tiles necessary for the variants you have chosen, as described below. Then set
up your gameboard however you wish, with the only requirement being that no movement space or group of movement
spaces is isolated from the other movement spaces. Then continue the setup as usual.

THE PORTALS T™Es®

Two special tiles introduce a new type of space: the portal.
It allows you to teleport a stack to a portal elsewhere on
the board.

During the setup, add the Portal tiles to the other tiles when building
the board, and place them wherever you like. A portal can only be entered or
exited through one space; access to “the back” of the Portal is blocked by a chasm.

The portal’s entrance/exit space must always be a movement space.

During the game, if a stack moves onto a portal, it immediately emerges from
another portal onto the space adjacent to that portal, and can even continue its
movement to an empty space, to regroup, or to attack.

A stack is never allowed to stop on a Portal space; however, even if the exit
space adjacent to a portal is occupied, you can still step through that portal: If it is
occupied by an enemy stack, you can attack it through the portal; if it is occupied
by a friendly stack, you can regroup with it through the portal. If the exit space
adjacent to the portal is blocked (you can neither attack nor regroup with the stack
there), then you cannot use the portal.

A Portal space is not a construction space.

THE PYRAMIDS TS

The spaces of the Pyramids tiles are Tempest spaces (see “The Labyrinth of Tem-

pests”). The pyramid depicted in the center does not affect your moves.
Each pyramidisworth2  to the player who occupies the most of the three
spaces around it. In the event of a tie, nobody gets these
We recommend using only one pyramid in a 2-player game, and both pyramids
with 3 or 4 players.

THE TEMPLE OF THE WIND T™€7
During the setup, add the Temple of the Wind tile to the other tiles
when building the board, and place them wherever you like.

The Temple of the Wind space is a construction space, following
the same constraints as a Reg.

If you have a building on the Temple of the Wind, then during your
Reinforcement phases, when you return several discs to play, you are allowed to
distribute them to several of your stacks, instead of just a single stack. All the other
rules of the Reinforcement phase still apply.

THE LABYRINTH OF TEMPESTS T™EsP&n

No discs are allowed to be placed on the Tempest spaces during setup.
The Tempest spaces are unusual movement spaces, which are accessible
during the game, according to the following rules:

During its movement, a stack loses one disc (of the active player’s choice
— it can be your Emperor) for each Tempest zone it traverses (several
contiguous Tempest spaces constitute a single Tempest zone), i.e. moves
through or stops in, during its move. During a single turn, if a single
Tempest zone is entered several times, you only lose one disc total to that
Tempest zone. Any discs lost this way return to your reserve.

A stack that starts its move from a Tempest space loses a disc at the start
of the move.

If you move into a Tempest zone in order to attack an enemy stack, you
lose the disc to the tempest before the attack takes place.

You cannot reinforce a stack in a Tempest space.

TEMPLE OF THE MOON ™t°
Replace tile E with this one, which contains the Temple of the Moon.

The Temple of the Moon space is a construction space equiva-
lent to a Reg.

If you have a building on the Temple of the Moon, then during
your Reinforcement phase, you can sacrifice two discs from your reserve
(put them back in the box) to place a solitary disc in reinforcement, whe-
rever you like on the board, ignoring the usual reinforcement rules. That
is to say that you can place this disc by itself on an empty space and/or on a
space adjacent to an enemy building, and/or on a tempest space.

The Emperor cannot be sacrificed to use the Temple of the Moon.

TEMPLE OF THE SAND TN

Replace tile E with this one, which contains the Temple of the Sand.

The Temple of the Sand space is a construction space equivalent to a Reg.

If you have a building on the Temple of the Sand, then one time du-
ring your turn, before your Action phase, you can sacrifice two discs from
your reserve (put them back in the box) to return an enemy disc (other than
an Emperor) from the board to its owner’s reserve.

The Emperor cannot be sacrificed to use the Temple of the Sand.

THE BEACON OF EON ™Y

The Beacon of Eon tile is intended to be used with the variants
that use Tempest zones. During the setup, add the Beacon of Eon
tile wherever you like.
The Beacon of Eon tile is a Tempest tile (see “The Labyrinth
of Tempests”).
Whoever occupies the most of the three spaces around the Bea-
con of Eon ignores the rules for Tempest tiles (in the event of a tie, no
player benefits from this effect). This player therefore treats Tempest spaces
like normal spaces: She does not lose a disc by moving into or through them,
and can reinforce her stacks there.



