
CLASH OF ARMIES: MEDIEVAL 
Version 0.85 ENG 

 
This rulebook is in development, and some things 
may change in later versions. Last update: August 
2020. You can get the latest version on our 
website: ​www.clashofarmies.com 
 

 
GAME CONTENTS 

 
 
Basic Game: 

- 104 Cards 
- 4 Damage taken cards 
- Rulebook 

 

 
 

 
INTRODUCTION 

 
 
COA: Medieval is a deck-building game where you               
have to raise an army in order to defeat your                   
opponent. Starting with a basic deck of resources               
and just a few soldiers, you must build up your                   
offensive and defensive powers, acquiring better           
cards from the common market. With mechanics           
based on historical medieval concepts, ​COA will       
transport you to an era where you will never forget          
the medieval clashes of armies.  
 

 
VICTORY 

 
 
To achieve victory, you must deal more damage        
to your opponent than you take from him. ​Once         
one of the players has at least 55 Damage         
Points, the end of the game triggers. If the         
player who started the game triggers the end of         

the game, the other player has one more turn to          
play. In the end, the player with the least total          
damage wins. 

 
DAMAGE TAKEN CARDS 

 
To keep track during the game, 2 cards allows you          
to control the damage received from your       
opponent. 
 

  

 
 

SETUP 
 

 
To set up their Player Decks, each player takes 6          
Gold cards (value 1) and 1 Gems card (value 2).          
These cards have an orange border. Shuffle the        
other Resource cards (value 2 and value 3        
resources, which have a white border), and place        
them in a pile face up in the middle of the table.            
This is the Resources Deck, which will be a part of           
the market. 
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Shuffle together all the Soldier cards, which have        
a blue border. Each player draws 3 of these cards.          
Then place the remaining Soldier cards in a pile         
face up in the market. This is the Soldiers deck. 
 

 
 
Each player should now have 10 cards. The        
players each shuffle their cards to form a pile they          
place face down in front of them. These are the          
Player Decks. 
 
Each player takes a Camp card and places it face          
up in front of them. Each player also takes 2          
Damage Points counter cards. 
 
The 5 Fortification cards are the cards with a         
purple border. Arrange these cards from least to        
greatest Defense Value, with the weakest, the       
Watchtower, on top. Place these in a pile face up          
in the market. This is the Fortifications Deck. 
 

 
 
Place the 2 Vassal cards face up to the side of the            
market. 
 
COA has 6 factions, but only 3 at a time are used            
in each game. In whatever way the players        
choose, they decide which 3 factions they will use         
in the game. Each faction has 6 cards. Shuffle all          
the cards from the 3 chosen factions together into         
a single pile. Place this pile face down in the          
market. This is the Factions Deck. Unused       
factions can be put back into the box.  
 

 
 
COA has 10 medieval events, which can have        
positive or negative consequences. Together, the      
players decide how many events to include in the         
game. We recommend that you include 6       
randomly drawn Medieval Event cards. Unused      
cards can be put back into the box. 
 
Shuffle together any medieval events you chose       
with all of the game’s remaining cards. These will         
consist of: Medieval Events, Heroes without      
Factions, Siege Weapons, Upgrades, Special     
Units, and Special Cards. Place these cards in a         
pile face down in the market. This is the Standard          
Deck. 
 



 
 
From the Standard Deck, draw 3 cards and place         
them face up in the market. From the Factions         
Deck, draw 2 cards and place them face up in the           
market. 
 

 
 
If you drew any medieval events during this part of          
setup, they have no effect and are considered        
past events. Immediately discard them and draw       
new cards for those empty spots. 
 
From their Player Decks, each player draws 5        
cards. Choose a player to start the game, and the          
Clash of Armies​ begins. 
 

 
TURN SEQUENCE 

 
 
COA is played in consecutive turns, one player        
after the other. On each turn, a player plays their          
cards and carries out 3 phases: Military,       
Economic, and Wrap-Up. Then the other player       
plays their cards and carries out the 3 phases. 
 

Each player has his own Player Deck. Each player         
also has his own discard pile, which is reshuffled         
whenever he needs to draw a card but has no          
more cards in his Player Deck. 
 

 
MILITARY PHASE (1st PHASE) 

 
 
Multiple cards can be played on a player’s turn,         
including multiple cards in this phase. For each        
card in his hand, the player can: 
 

- Activate and perform the card’s     
abilities. 

 
Activated cards can provide Attack Points,      
Resources, or Recovery Points. 
 

   

 
Attack Points add to the Attack Total for an attack          
on your opponent this turn. (The number of        
Damage Points your opponent takes depends on       
his defenses.) Resources will be used in the        
Economic Phase. Recovery Points immediately     
reduce the amount of Damage Points you have        
taken.  
 

- Garrison military units in a fortification,      
if you have a Fortification card in play. 

  
If you choose to garrison a military unit card in a           
fortification, you do not activate the military unit        
card. Instead, place the card with your fortification.        
A garrisoned military unit’s Defense Value will       
help protect you from your opponent’s attacks.       
See FORTIFICATIONS. 
 
In later rounds, if your fortification still stands, you         
can remove a garrisoned military unit card from        
the fortification to activate it. By not activating the         
military unit card now, the card’s only use will be          
its Defense Value, unless the card explicitly       
indicates otherwise (for example, a card that says        
if it is garrisoned, draw a card). 
 



 
 

- Garrison military units in your camp, if       
you also have a hero or general       
garrisoned there. 

 
As indicated on the Camp card, a hero or general          
must be garrisoned here in order to garrison other         
cards. If you choose to garrison a military unit card          
in your camp, you do not activate the military unit          
card. Instead, place the card with your camp. A         
garrisoned military unit’s Defense Value can help       
protect you from your opponent’s attacks. But you        
get to decide that when you are attacked. 
 

 
 

 

 
You can garrison military unit cards, in either a         
fortification or your camp, of a quantity no higher         
than the maximum limit indicated on the card. But         
in your camp, heroes and generals do not count         
toward this limit. So you can have up to 3 military           
unit cards, plus 1 or more Hero cards, garrisoned         
in your camp. In your fortification, your active        
monarch does not count toward this limit. 
 

 
ATTACK, DEFENSE, AND DAMAGE 

 
 
To conclude the Military Phase, a player declares        
their attack by telling their opponent their Attack        
Total. 
 
If the player’s opponent has units garrisoned in his         
camp, he can now use them if he chooses to. 
 
There are 3 possible results of the attack: 
 

- Attack Total is less than Defense Total:       
The opponent takes no damage. The      
attack has no effect. 

 
- Attack Total is equal to Defense Total:       

The opponent takes no damage, but his       
fortification and any units garrisoned in it       
must be discarded. 

 
- Attack Total is greater than Defense      

Total: The opponent receives the     
difference between the Attack Total and      
the Defense Total as Damage Points. And       
his fortification and any units garrisoned in       
it must be discarded.  

 
When you take damage, add the amount you took         
using your Damage Points counter cards. 
 
Proper card play can generate from 1 to more         
than 30 Damage Points at once! 
 

 
ECONOMIC PHASE (2nd PHASE) 

 
 



Add the value of all resources from all the cards          
you activated this turn, and active cards such as         
your monarch, to purchase cards from the market. 
 

 
 
Besides Gold, Gems, and Jewels Resource cards,       
some cards, like the Merchant, can also generate        
resources. 
 
You can purchase 0 or more cards on your turn.          
You can purchase as many cards as you want;         
you are only limited by the amount of resources         
you generated this turn and the availability of        
face-up cards in the market. You can purchase        
from the 3 cards face up from the Standard Deck,          
the 2 cards face up from the Factions Deck, or          
any of the top cards showing, face up, on the          
Resources, Soldiers, and Fortifications Decks. 
 
Each card has a cost value shown at the top of           
the card. If you want to purchase a card, if you           
have at least as many resources this turn as that          
card’s cost, reduce your total resources for this        
turn by the card’s cost and take it from the market. 
 
Cards you purchase usually go directly into       
your discard pile. Exceptions are cards like       
monarchs and upgrades, which are left face up on         
the table. 
 
Cards you purchase from the market will be        
replaced once your turn ends. But the Resources,        
Soldiers, and Fortifications Decks always show a       
card face up, and you can purchase multiple cards         
from these decks on your turn. 
 
If a Medieval Event card appears when       
replenishing the market, resolve the event      
according to the card’s directions. 
 
 
 

 
WRAP-UP PHASE (3rd PHASE) 

 
 
In the Wrap-Up Phase, take the following steps: 
 

- Discard all cards you have activated or       
played this turn but that you have not        
garrisoned or scrapped. You should have      
no cards left in your hand. 

 
- Declare the value of your ​Total Defense​,       

from your fortification and your camp. 
 

- Draw 5 cards​ for your next turn. 
 

- Replenish each empty space in the      
market with a new card drawn from its        
respective deck. 

 
If any of the market decks completely deplete        
(Resources Deck, Soldiers Deck, Fortifications     
Deck, Factions Deck, or the Standard Deck) they        
will not get replenished for the rest of the game. 
 
If a Medieval Event card appears during       
replenishing, replenishing is suspended.    
Resolve the event, then continue replenishing,      
including replacing the Medieval Event card. 
 

 
ORDER OF PLAY 

 
 
The phases of a turn can be carried out in any           
order. But note that on your turn every card in          
your hand must be played unless a card ability         
directs you to do something differently, such as        
discarding or scrapping a card. To “play” a card         
means activating it or garrisoning it. 
 
You are not required to use all resources and         
abilities each activated card provides. But you are        
required to use the abilities of Special Cards in         
your hand. Special Cards also cannot be       
garrisoned. 
 
When activated, a card is set aside, and when the          
player ends his turn, he moves all activated cards         
to his discard pile. 
 



 
 

SCRAPPING CARDS 
 

 
Cards with the Scrap symbol can also       
provide you what is indicated to the right of         
this symbol. For example, a Gold card       

provides 1 resource when it’s activated, and you        
can choose to scrap the card for 1 additional         
resource. If a card is scrapped, set it aside, out of           
play for the rest of the game. 
 
Some scrap abilities can be triggered during your        
opponent’s turn, such as with upgrades. 
 

 
UPGRADES 

 
 
When you purchase an Upgrade card, it does not         
become part of your Player Deck. Do not put it          
into your discard pile; instead, place it face up in          
front of you, to the side of your Player Deck.          
Upgrades act as improvements to your      
fortifications, and they can only be used when        
your Fortification cards are used. (Notice the       
Fortification and Upgrade cards share the same       
color border.) 
 

 
MONARCHS 

 
 
When you first purchase a Monarch card, it does         
not become part of your Player Deck. Do not put it           
into your discard pile; instead, place it face up in          
front of you, to the side of your Player Deck. Also,           
take a Vassal card, and put it into your discard          
pile. The vassal will represent your monarch when        
you draw the vassal into your hand. Then you can          
use the Vassal card to activate the Monarch card. 
 

 

 
Some monarch abilities can be used without the        
need for the vassal. 
 
If your monarch has a Defense Value, add it to          
your Defense Total only if you have a        
fortification in play. The monarch cannot defend       
without a fortification; it does not add to Defense         
Values from units garrisoned in your camp. 
 
Monarchs also activate faction abilities. ​See      
FACTIONS. 
 
If you purchase another Monarch card after your        
first one, the new card goes into your discard pile          
like any normal card you purchase, and you do         
not take another Vassal card. When you draw the         
new Monarch card, you can switch it with your         
active monarch. When this happens the new       
Monarch card is not activated, and the old        
Monarch card is set aside as if it had been          
activated. Your vassal always represents only      
your active monarch, and it can only be used for 1           
monarch per turn. If you draw a Monarch card into          
your hand, you cannot use it for anything besides         
replacing your active monarch. 
 

 
FACTIONS 

 
 
Faction cards have a coat of arms symbol, and         
they are played like any regular card. But any         
ability on the card showing to the right of the coat           
of arms can only be activated when a monarch or          
hero of the same faction is in play or garrisoned.          
The faction units need their monarch or hero in         
sight. 
 

- If you have that faction’s monarch active       
beside your Player Deck, you can always       
activate that faction’s actions. 

 
- If that faction’s hero is in your hand or         

garrisoned in a fortification or your camp,       
you can activate that faction’s actions. 

 
- If a faction unit is garrisoned and that        

faction’s hero is in your hand or       
garrisoned, you can activate that faction’s      
actions. 



 

 
 
Note: If the faction’s hero is garrisoned, it’s not         
necessary to activate the Hero card to use faction         
units’ faction actions; the hero’s visible presence       
is sufficient. 
 

 
QUICK QUESTIONS - More questions available      
on the website.  

 
Can you have multiple fortifications? You can       
have multiple Fortification cards in your Player       
Deck, but you can only have 1 fortification actively         
in play on the table. 
Can I use units that are defending in my         
attack? Yes, you can remove any number of        
garrisoned units from your camp and a       
fortification, to use them for an attack. You are         
“activating” these cards, then they will be       
discarded during the Wrap-Up Phase. 
Can I save some cards between turns? You        
cannot save cards in your hand from one turn to          
another. But if you can garrison units, this is a way           
to set up a future turn with more cards you will be            
able to activate. 
Can I garrison units with no Defense Value?        
Yes, you can. Garrisoned units don't have to        
provide defense. In fact, you may want to garrison         
certain units to strategize for a future attack. 
I don't see that the card values have very high          
Attack/Damage values. Is it possible to      
generate more than 20 Damage in an attack?        
Yes, it is. It’s the combination of cards that can          

generate a high amount of damage. The game        
relies on your skill to find card combinations that         
deliver the most powerful attacks. The total       
damage in one turn can exceed 30 Damage        
Points. 
Can the game be played with a different        
starting setup? Of course! Seasoned players can       
start the game in whatever way seems convenient        
and the most fun. The setup detailed in these         
rules is the official standard setup.  
What are the possible primary card abilities?       
In the basic game, there are 3 primary card         
abilities: Attack, Healing (or recovery of damage),       
and Resources. Defense is available on some       
cards as an ability that can only be used in certain           
situations, like when the card is garrisoned. 
Does the order of the Economic and Military        
Phases matter? No. We provided an order of        
play in this rulebook for players new to the game.          
What you should bear in mind is that when a card           
is in your hand, you will activate it, garrison it, or           
discard it. Once cards have been activated, they        
are discarded.  
I have a catapult in my hand, as well as Joan           
of Arc, which says I can draw a card from my           
discard pile. My idea is to activate the catapult,         
then discard it and activate it again thanks to         
Joan of Arc. Is that possible? No. Activation        
implies that the card was used during that hand,         
so you can set it aside, but you do not discard it            
until the end of your turn. If you set aside activated           
cards, you can make a pile of them that you          
discard all at once at the end of your turn. This           
can even be an indication to the other player that          
you have finished your turn. ​See WRAP-UP       
PHASE. 
 
Do you have questions? 
Please let us know! It’s very important to us for          
these rules to be quick, concise, and easy to         
understand. We also rely on other media such as         
videos. We will gladly answer any questions you        
have, so send us an email or contact us through          
social media. This rulebook will always be       
updated with the most current version available       
online. 
 

Contact Us 
Instagram: @clasharmies 
Twitter: @clasharmies 
www.ponchogames.com 
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